2014 National Board of Directors

2014 National Board of Directors

Membership Services & Programs

SARA offers a variety of membership services and programs, including a professional referral service, seminars in conjunction with its annual conference, professional and student design awards competitions and issues development to strengthen and protect the interests of practicing architects. Members also gain from professional recognition among peers, design expertise referral, personal involvement at all levels within the Society, camaraderie among fellow members, individual achievement recognition, and a College of Fellows.

JOIN NOW

 

How We Got Started

The Society of American Registered Architects, Pennsylvania Council was started by a group of Pennsylvania Architects practicing in the Greater Philadelphia area. They had once been active members of the SARA PA Council in the 1970′s, but their professional lives took them in other directions and the council eventually faded away. Twenty years later, these same Architects noticed an element missing in their professional lives. Although they belonged to several other professional organizations, these organizations proved useful only in their professional lives, primarily as resource for packaged information, and provided little physical interaction. They sought a network of peers who could bounce thoughts and questions against one another and get thoughtful responses. In 2002, five Architects decided it was time to re-establish such a group, and fill the void left by other professional associations. Fast-forward to today, and this network of peers not only exists as the PA Council along with its 70+ members.

Our Mission

To provide our members with a variety of programs, educational as well as social, to facilitate development of professional skills, promote increased industry awareness and encourage best business practices; confirming our national motto: “Architect Helping Architect.”

A National Society

The PA Council is supported by the SARA National Conference, which provides a voice for Architects from all local councils to address needs of Architects across the country. You can find more information about the National Conference and other regional councils by visiting
www.sara-national.org


2016 PA Council Board of Directors

Melissa Dzielak, ARA, President

          E: mdzielak@rhjassoc.com  P: (610) 337-4555

John McDonald, Associate, Vice President

          E: jmcdonald@ksmarchitects.com P: (610) 240-4880

Phil Appleby, Associate, Treasurer

          E: pappleby@rhjassoc.com  P: (610) 337-4555

Jim Dziegrenuk, Associate, Secretary

          E: jdziegrenuk@rhjassoc.com  P: (610) 337-4555

Abby Schwartz, ARA, Director & Immediate Past President

          E: aschwartz@abbyschwartzassociates.com

Nicholas Boblooch, Associate

          E: nboblooch@rhjassoc.com  P: (610) 337-4555

Stephen Custer, Associate  

          E: scuster@rhjassoc.com  P: (610) 337-4555

Zachary Garman, Associate

         E: zacharybgarman@gmail.com

Rhett Jones, FARA

          E: rjones@tsquare.biz  P: (610) 337-4555

Ron Knabb, FARA

         E: rknabb@ksmarchitects.com  P: (610) 240-4880

Ted Newell, ARA

          E: tnewell@ewingcole.com

Ryan Orr, Associate

E: rorrarch@gmail.com

Shauna Strubinger, Associate

         E: srstrubi@gmail.com

Julie Rosenberger, Affiliate

          E: julie.rosenberger@shawinc.com  P: (610) 585-8327

Tom Stone, Affiliate

E: tom@stoneglidden.com  P: (610) 270-2850